Clark and Cumberbach, to boldly go......

Great news for BBC fans. The cast of J.J. Abrams new Star Trek film has gotten a little more british.

Noel Clark, formerly Micky Smith of Doctor Who fame is set to boldly go where no companion has gone before. Very few details are squeaking their way off the Paramount lot, but it has been reported that Noel will be playing a ‘family man’ with a wife and daughter.

Gee Paramount, could you possibly be any more vague? Huh?

In other news, Sherlock’s Cumberbatch (a series I really need to start watching) has also been cast, which has fangirls and boys everywhere speculating if Abrams has found his KHAAAANNNN!  Reports are conflicting, with Deadline saying there’s no word as to whether he’s on the side of the angels or the devils, while Variety is saying he’s definitely going to be the big bad of the film. Devin Faraci of BadAss Digest speculated earlier in the day that Cumberbatch could play Sybok, Spock’s half brother – an intriguing possibility.

I’m not sure I want to see Abrams bringing Khan into the rebooted Star Trek universe just yet. I would really like to see them develop their own canon first, but I went to the first Star Trek movie under duress and really enjoyed it – so much so I went again with my mother – so I’m going to trust J.J.’s vision on this one for the time being.

What is bothering me is that I’m hearing some negative buzz about the addition of Noel Clark (I’m looking at you Mario!). For those of you who never venture beyond these shores for your television entertainment, Noel Clarke is an award winning actor, writer and director. He’s incredibly accomplished and I for one am stoked to see him get such a huge break on this side of the Atlantic. He’s a fantastic addition to the cast.

Noel’s latest film, The Knot, which he also wrote is going to be out later this year, while you can see Benedict Cumberbatch in War Horse, Tinker, Tailer, Soldier, Spy, and the second season of BBC’s Sherlock which started on January 1st. They will join fellow brits Simon Pegg (Scotty) and Alice Eve who was cast late last month.

Via: Badass Digest, Deadline and Variety

