A few days ago, Mike Sampson over at JoBlo posted a detailed description of Captain America’s costume developed for Chris Evans:

The fabric of the costume doesn’t look like the scaled material of SPIDER-MAN but more of a leather fabric, like something you’d see on one of the X-MEN. Cap wears an old school utility belt, the likes of which we haven’t seen much in modern superhero movies. Utility belts were a staple of comic superheroes but haven’t made the transition but here Cap sports a rather thick belt made up of brown pockets with a silver buckle. (It actually looks something like the belt on this Captain America toy. [snip]
The suit actually has a practical WWII military look to it with some of the obvious Captain America flourishes that we would expect. It’s hard to really pass judgment on a costume until you see it properly lit, in motion and doing what it’s meant to do. But based on what I saw, I’m pretty impressed with how they were able to adapt the costume for the film.

As for the shield, it actually hews very closely to the classic design of red/white/red rings with the white star in a blue circle at the middle.

And yesterday, AICN posted artwork of a completely different source, which Mike from JoBlo has confirmed to be the art he was describing in his original piece.

And now, without further ado, I give you: Captain America – The First Avenger:

Captain America - Treatment 1Captain America - Treatment 2Captain America - Treatment 3Captain America - Treatment 4I’ve got to say, despite my misgivings, Chris Evans is going to look *GOOD*!

I love how the costume is a blend of what appears to be leather (very WWII) and the futuristic fabric (Spiderman) with some armour elements as well. If I were to categorize it, I’d say it was a combination of Christian Bales’ Batman and The Watchmen’s Comedian costumes. The utility belt with the red suspenders is a nice, practical touch. I’m also glad to see that that they got rid of the red pirate boots. I could never imagine why someone like Steve Rogers put up with footwear that could only be practical in a production of the Pirates of Penzance.

The only thing I’m missing are the wings on the helmet. I kinda miss that touch of whimsy to the costume, but understand why they left it out.

So Gang, what do you think?

Via: JoBlo, AICN

