Leonard Nimoy and his alter egoWould that be to a poolside bar in sunny Miami Beach?

Apparently, Leonard Nimoy is ready to hang up the latex ears and retire.

According to The Sun, the 79 year old actor/director/photographer  is going to give up his acting gig at the end of this season of Fringe:

“I’ve been doing this professionally for 60 years. I love the idea of going out on a positive note. I’ve had a great, great time.”

Nimoy had taken a 12 year hiatus from acting before being tempted back to play Spock one more time for J.J. Abrams’s reboot of the Star Trek franchise. So this means there won’t be a Spock cameo in the next installment in 2012?

“I want to get off the stage. Also, I don’t think it would be fair to Zachary Quinto. He’s a terrific actor, he looks the part, and it’s time to give him some space. And I’m very flattered the character will continue.”

Unfortunately, this means he will be paring back his appearances at fan conventions as well. Nimoy will be attending the Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo which “could be the last go-round for that too,” one of only a few public appearances that he has planned. He also plans to visit Vulcan, Alta on Friday as part of the town’s investiture as ““Official Star Trek Capital of Canada” and the unveiling of a bronze bust of the man he made famous. You might remember last year, when Nimoy championed the town as the host of the world premier of the new Star Trek movie:

“I couldn’t resist. I thought, ‘Since I’m coming to Calgary, why not Vulcan?’

This doesn’t mean he’s going to take up antiquing and shuffleboard in Arizona however. Nimoy is an avid photographer and currently has an exhibit coming up at R. Michelson Gallery, in Northampton, Ma.

