Chris Evans IS Captain AmericaIt’s official.  The role of Steve Rogers, aka Captain America has been offered to Chris Evans, formerly of The Fantastic Four movie franchise.

According to both Entertainment Weekly and MSNBC, Evans was offered the role this afternoon, even before director Joe Johnson auditioned the final two candidates. If Evans accepts the role, he will sign on for a three movie deal. The news however has yet to be confirmed by either Marvel or Paramount.

So, there you have it.  Not an absolutely horrible choice, but still not the one I would have made.  I would have loved to see a fresh face in the Marvel universe and I have my doubts Evans will be able to go toe to toe with Downey, but we’ll see.  I’m willing to give him and Captain America the chance.

Besides, with Hugo Weaving in the movie, how bad can it be? Yeah, famous last words.

Thoughts?

