WelcomeWelcome to The Fangirl’s Handbag.

So, you’re probably wondering exactly what Fangirl’s Handbag is.  No worries, I’m still trying to figure it out myself.

Basically the idea came to me when I was going through the Wired Magazine Santa popped into my stocking at Christmas.  I’m flipping through it and it struck me how male oriented it was.  I’m a geek, so the articles were interesting, but all the ads and the editorials were pretty much directed at men.  This got me thinking: “Why don’t we hear more from women geeks?”  We’re out there.  I know I’m not the only woman out there who gets giddy over the latest Gaiman novel, or drools over the latest app for the iPhone.  Where do I fit into the grand scheme of things?

I think part of the problem is that no one really knows what to do with fangirls/girlgeeks, particularly when they are also wives and mothers.  It seems to me that the attitude is that once you get married and ‘settle down’ (as if anyone chasing a 3 year old armed with a Sharpie (TM) could be considered settled) you put away such ‘childish things’ as video games and comic books and concentrate on your family.

Well I’m here to show people how wrong that perception is.

Am I only going to talk ‘geeky’ things here?  No, if a geek was all I was, yeah, you’ll probably see no end of links to It’s Just Some Random Guy’s YouTube Channel or Whedonesque or Wired.  Thing is, I’m not just a geek.  I’m a woman, a wife, a mother, and a designer, so I’ll be touching on those subjects as they relate to my life as well.  Ultimately, I’m hoping that will make for a fresh perspective on the whole world of the fangirl and keep you coming back for more.

I want to keep the tone light and fun.  I intend to blog about movies, entertainment, books, comics, technology.  Once a week I hope to post biographies about real/fictional geeky women.  Who knows, I may even get to *gasp* interview some of them.  How cool would that be?  I will also be hitting on some more serious topics involving women’s issues or bioethics.  Regardless of what I’m posting about, I always invite dissenting points of view.  I have no problems with opposing opinions, so long as they’re respectful.  One of the great benefits of social media is that it allows discussion where people may not have had access to each other before (oooh, I feel a blog post coming on).

At any rate, I hope you enjoy yourselves here.  I hope you feel free to make your opinions know.  Who knows, I might invite you to be a guest poster.

Let’s see where this road takes us, shall we?

